school of rockAndrew Lloyd Webber has announced that following its triumphant Broadway opening , the West End production of his new School of Rock – The Musical will open in London at the end of this year.

Based on the smash hit 2003 film of the same title, School of Rock features music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyricist Glenn Slater and a book by Julian Fellowes. School of Rock – The Musical is directed by Laurence Connor with choreography by JoAnn M. Hunter, set and costume designs by Anna Louizos, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Mick Potter, music supervision by Ethan Popp and hair design by Josh Marquette.

Based on the iconic, hit movie, this musical follows Dewey Finn, a down-on-his-luck wannabe rock star who decides to earn an extra bit of cash by posing as a supply teacher at a prestigious prep school to make ends mee. There he turns a class of straight A pupils into a guitar-shredding, mind-blowing rock band. When he discovers their musical talents, he enlists his fifth-graders to form a rock group and conquer the Battle of the Bands but can he get them to the competition without their parents and the school’s headmistress finding out?

David Trainor is leading the London cast as wannabe rock star Dewey Finn.   He will be joined by Florence Andrews as Rosalie Mullins, Oliver Jackson as Ned Scneebly and Preeya Kalidas as Patty Di Marc0.

The adult  cast is completed byStephen Leask  as the alternate Dewey with ensemble members Jonathan Bourne/Gabe/Jeff/Billy’s Dad, Nadeem Crowe/Doug/Mr Spencer, Michelle Francis/Mrs Williams, Rosanna Hyland/Mrs Hathaway, Cassandra McCowan/Mrs Turner, Joel Montague/Stanley/Mr Williams, Andy Rees/Mr Mooneyham/Snake, Cameron Sharp,  Andrew Spillett/Drummer/Police Officer and Lucy Vandi/Ms Sheinkopf  with swings, Charlotte Bradford, Tasha Sheridan,Jason Denton, Cellen Chugg James, Chris Jenkins, Alfie Parker and Charlotte Scott.

The 39 talented performers alternating in the following roles of the the children in the band are:

  • Zack: Tom Abisgold (12 years old from Ashton Hayes), Toby Lee (11 years old from Priors Marston) and Jake Slack (12 years old from Chesham).
  • Freddy: Bailey Cassell (11 years old from Dagenham), Jude Harper-Wrobel (10 years old from Kings Langley) and Noah Key (12 years old from Bridgnorth).
  • Lawrence: Giles Carden (12 years old from Cobham), Oscar Francisco (12 years old from Coventry) and James Lawson (12 years old from Chiswick).
  • Katie: Selma Hansen (13 years old from Willesden), Lois Jenkins (11 years old from Lewisham) and Sophia Pettit (13 years old from Morden).
  • Summer: Isabelle Methven (12 years old from Harpenden), Lucy Simmonds (11 years old from Waterlooville) and Eva Trodd (11 years old from Bromley).
  • Marcy: Madeleine Haynes (12 years old from Barnet), Leah Levman (10 years old from Chiswick) and Natasha Raphael (10 years old from Ealing).
  • Shonelle: Jaydah Bell-Rickets (10 years old from New Cross), Shoshana Ezequiel (12 years old from Watford) and Ameila Poggenpoel (10 years old from Formby).
  • Sophia: Lola Moxom (11 years old from Rochester), Mia Roberts (11 years old from Shoreditch) and Grace Schneider (11 years old from Maida Vale).
  • Tomika: Nicole Dube (11 years old from Colchester), Amma Ris (11 years old from Haringey) and Adithi Sujith (9 years old from Wembley).
  • Billy: Jobe Hart (9 years old from Buckingham), Joshua Vaughan (10 years old from Birmingham) and Logan Walmsley (10 years old from Buckingham).
  • Mason: Presley Charma (9 years old from Teddington), Lucas Chow (12 years old from Willesden) and Ben Dawson (11 years old from Portsmouth).
  • James: Bradley Bissett (11 years old from Ramsgate), Denzel Eboji (12 years old from Dagenham) and Sonny Kirby (11 years old from Welwyn Garden City).
  • Madison: Zachary Dowlatshahi (19 years old from Teddington), Harry Egerton (11 years old from Halesowen) and Jacob Swann (11 years old from Greenwich).
Produced by Paramount Pictures, the 2003 film was directed by Richard Linklater and starred Jack Black in a career-defining performance and went on to gross more than $130 million worldwide.

Buy tickets for School of Rock which is booking to 14th January 2018.

show timesMonday-Saturday 7:30 pm / Matinees Saturday at 2:30 pm & Sunday at 3:00 pm Running time: 2 hours 30 minutes (including interval)



New London Theatre
166 Drury Lane,
London WC2B 5PW

Click on map to enlarge image

Tube & Train:Charing Cross, Holborn or Covent Garden
buses to Her Majesty's Theatre
Buses to the Holborn area use: 1, 59, 68, 134, 168, 171, 188, 243, X68
nearest car park

24hr Chinatown car park (20 Newport Place,WC2H 7PR). Here parking costs £18 for up to 3hrs, and £24 for 4hrs but theatregoers can save 50% if they have their ticket validated at the theatre


Infra-red system with headsets and neckloops. Induction loop at Box Office. Headsets available in foyer.
Access dogs are allowed inside the auditorium, staff can also dog-sit for four dogs per performance in the Manager’s office.
No steps through double swing doors into the foyer. Box Office to the right with lowered counter. Escalator up from the main foyer to the mezzanine level and then a further 32 steps up to the Stalls, or 41 to the rear Stalls. 65 steps up to the Dress Circle (threesteep steps between rows). Venue is carpeted throughout and all staircases are highlighted with handrails on either side.  Theatre opens 45 minutes before the performance..
Adapted toilet en route from the lifts to the auditorium..